The Stakeholder Group is comprised of influential and committed individuals from across South Yorkshire and the education sector. The group and its structure are guided by an agreed set of Terms of Reference (as set out below) and meet regularly to ensure the successful delivery of the South Yorkshire Futures programme.

Group membership

  • Richard Calvert (Chair) – Chief Operating Officer, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Chris Abbott – Teaching Schools Council
  • Damian Allen – Director of People, Doncaster Council
  • Gwyn Ap Harri – CEO, XP School Trust
  • Stephen Betts – Chief Executive, Learn Sheffield
  • Charlotte Bown – Lead for Opportunity Areas, Department for Education
  • Greg Burke – Director of South Yorkshire Futures, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Warren Carratt – CEO, Nexus Multi Academy Trust
  • Verity Clarke – Cultural Education Manager, IVE
  • Rachel Dickinson – Executive Director – People Directorate, Barnsley Council
  • Pepe Di’Iasio – Headteacher, Wales High School
  • Stephanie Douglas – Head of Early Years Service, Doncaster Council
  • John Edwards – Regional Schools Commissioner, Department for Education
  • Angela Foulkes – Chief Executive and Principal, Sheffield College
  • Chris French – CEO, Mercia Learning Trust
  • Paul Harvey – Volunteer Centre Manager, Voluntary Action Sheffield
  • Christopher Hill – CEO, Element Society
  • Yiannis Koursis – Principal, Barnsley College
  • Vanessa Langley – Executive Headteacher, Arbourthorne and Gleadless Primary Schools
  • Margaret Libreri – Barnsley Council
  • Mark Lynam – Director of Programme Commissioning, Sheffield City Region
  • Michelle McKenzie- Smith – PLACE based Workforce Lead, Doncaster & Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Jamie McMahon – Regional Director of Post 16 Education, Delta Trust
  • Wyn Morgan – Vice-President for Education, University of Sheffield
  • Clair Mowbray – Chief Executive, National College for High Speed Rail
  • Libby Nicholas – Chief Executive, Astrea Academy Trust
  • Lee Owston – Her Majesty’s Inspector in the North East, Yorkshire and Humber, and Ofsted’s Specialist Adviser for early education
  • Ian Read – Headteacher, Watercliffe Meadow Community Primary School
  • Nicola Shipman – CEO, Steel City Schools Partnership
  • Maria Stoneman – Head of HR & Operations, Doc/Fest
  • Debbie Squire – Programme Manager, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Sam Twiselton – Director of Sheffield Institute of Education, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Anne Tyrell – Chief Executive, Doncaster and North Lindsey College
  • Krysia Wooffinden – Assistant Director (Skills, Employment & Education), Sheffield City region

Terms of Reference


To steer the successful delivery of the South Yorkshire Futures programme.


The Stakeholder Group is not accountable for delivery of specific initiatives, but for providing advice on the overall implementation of the programme.


  • To make links to wider sub-regional initiatives
  • To ensure that the programme is consistent with government education and skills policies
  • To ensure that the programme supports wider education and skills policies being delivered through key stakeholders, such as the LEP
  • To review performance of the programme and support dissemination of research findings to their part of the sector
  • To ensure that appropriate links are made to the Doncaster Opportunity Area


The group will be reviewed annually each July.